top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Bugeja


The finalists of this year's L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija have been announced. The judging panel this year was made up of Adrian Mamo, David Azzopardi, Martina Caruana, Miriam Cassar, Noel D’Anastas and Vince Fabri.

The festival, which this year is in its 40th edition, will take place over two nights in July at Pjazza Teatru Rjal in Valletta. On Thursday, July 7, the 18 songs listed below will compete to be among the 12 songs that will feature in the final proper on Saturday, July 9, on which night the outright winners of this year's edition will be announced.

Song Author Composer

Bħal Tifla Zghira Rita Pace Marco Debono

Ħabta u Sabta Andy Muscat Mark Scicluna

Ħallejt il-Passi Wrajk Paul Ellul Glen Vella

Ħanini Walter Micallef Walter Micallef

Id-Dieher Augusto Cardinali Augusto Cardinali

Il-Biża' u Jien Rita Pace Pamela Bezzina

Is-Sinjur Emil Calleja Bayliss Mark Scicluna

Jien Biss Joe Julian Farrugia Dominic Cini

Ma Ninsiex Joe Julian Farrugia Augusto Cardinali

Mellisni Joe Chircop Mark Spiteri Lucas

Ngħidlek Joe Julian Farrugia Miriam Christine

Pupa tal-Plastik Paul Ellul Marco Debono

Ta' Billejl Paul Ellul Mark Spiteri Lucas

Tama Shyli, Jasmar, Kapitlu 13 DJ Mac, David Leguesse, Shyli

Taptipa fuq l-Ispallejn Emil Calleja Bayliss Pamela Bezzina

Waħdi Miegħek Ingrid Vella Kaya

Xagħar Twil Ingrid Vella Mark Laurence Zammit

X'Se Jsir? Corazon Mizzi Corazon Mizzi

The festival is organized by the L-Għanja tal-Poplu committee with the support of Spazju Kreattiv, Arts Council Malta and PBS, with the latter also making its resident orchestra available for the event. .

Details of which singers will be performing the songs will be announced shortly.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page